LSU Tigers College Football

Bowl Games

Bowl Games 1935-1937, 1943, 1946, 1949, 1958, 1959, 1961, 1962-1965, 1967, 1968, 1970-1973, 1977-1979, 1982, 1984-1988, 1995-1997, 2000-2017

O / D Coordinators

Offensive and Defensive Coordinators Steve Ensminger and Dave Aranda

Head Coach

Head Coach Ed Orgeron

2018 LSU Tigers Game Schedule

Week 1 9/2 (Neutral Field) Miami 7:30 PM ABC
Week 2 9/8 Southeastern Louisiana 7:00 PM TBA
Week 3 9/15 at Auburn 3:30 CBS
Week 4 9/22 Louisiana Tech TBA TBA
Week 5 9/29 Mississippi TBA TBA
Week 6 10/6 at Florida TBA TBA
Week 7 10/13 Georgia TBA TBA
Week 8 10/20 Mississippi State TBA TBA
Week 9 - BYE 10/27 BYE BYE BYE
Week 10 11/3 Alabama TBA TBA
Week 11 11/10 at Arkansas TBA TBA
Week 12 11/17 Rice TBA TBA
Week 13 11/24 at Texas A&M TBA TBA

LSU Tigers College Football Info

The LSU Tigers have been a mainstay at the top of the college football rankings for much of this century. Nick Saban was the head coach beginning in 2000, and that's when the Tigers began to make a serious name for themselves. They defeated No. 11 ranked Tennessee 38-31 in a huge upset during Saban's first season, prompting fans to rip down the goal posts. The team then defeated top ranked Alabama, by far their biggest rival, 30-28 the following year and the fans again took down the posts in celebration. This was just the second and third time this occurred in the history of the program. In 2003, Saban led the Tigers to a 21-14 win over Oklahoma in the 2003 Sugar Bowl which delivered the school's second championship. They had previously won in 1958 under coach Paul Dietzel.

Following the 2004 campaign, Saban departed for Alabama and was replaced by Les Miles who continued to maintain the standard of excellence LSU had begun to establish. The Tigers went 11-2 SU during the 2005 college football season and toppled Miami in the Peach Bowl. This would begin a huge thrust of momentum for Miles and the Tigers as they would win the 2007 Sugar Bowl against the Notre Dame Fighting Irish the following season before going on to finish 12-2 SU and win the 2008 BCS National Championship against Ohio State in a 38-24 thriller. Miles and the Tigers would again return to the national championship stage in 2012, but lost to Alabama 0-21.

That shutout defeat began a slow but noticeable erosion of output from the LSU Tigers in college football. They would gradually slip out of national title contention despite making numerous, successful appearance in bowl games. More often than not, a season-deciding matchup against Alabama almost always resulted in a loss. Miles was dismissed halfway through the 2016 season and succeeded by Ed Orgeron. The team went 9-4 SU and 7-5-1 ATS through 2017.

Ed Orgeron will have his work cut out for him this year at LSU after finishing the season behind both Auburn and Alabama in the division. The Tigers face tough competition on the road (at Auburn, at Florida), opening the season with a showdown on a neutral field vs Miami. The Tigers return just 10 starters from last years team and with a new Ohio State transfer quarterback, Joe Burrow.

Billy Cannon is the program's lone Heisman trophy winner. Steve Van Buren, Y.A. Tittle and Jim Taylor are the school's only three Pro Football Hall of Fame inductees. The NFL is flooded with LSU Tigers as there have been 38 players taken in the first round. Unfortunately, the most well known player to come out of LSU is infamous draft bust Jamarcus Russell, who was selected first overall by the Oakland Raiders in 2007.
  • Conference Championships: 1935, 1936, 1958, 1961, 1970, 1986, 1988, 2001, 2003, 2007, 2011

Recent LSU Tigers College Football News