SMU Mustangs College Football

Bowl Games

Bowl Games 1924, 1935, 1947, 1948, 1963, 1966, 1968, 1980, 1982, 1983, 1984, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2017.

O / D Coordinators

Offensive Coordinator and Defensive Coordinator  Rhett Lashlee and Kevin Kane

Head Coach

Head Coach Sonny Dykes

2018 Southern Methodist Mustangs Game Schedule

Week 1 9/1 at North Texas 7:30 PM TBA
Week 2 9/7 TCU 8:00 PM ESPN2
Week 3 9/15 at Michigan 3:30 PM BTN
Week 4 9/22 Navy TBA TBA
Week 5 9/29 Houston Baptist 7:00 PM ESPN3
Week 6 10/6 at UCF TBA TBA
Week 7 10/20 at Tulane TBA TBA
Week 8 10/27 Cincinnati TBA TBA
Week 9 11/3 Houston TBA TBA
Week 10 11/10 at UConn TBA TBA
Week 11 11/16 Memphis 9:00 PM ESPN2
Week 12 11/24 at Tulsa TBA TBA

SMU Mustangs College Football Info

The Southern Methodist Mustangs are more commonly referred to as "SMU". Overall the Mustangs have three national titles from 1935, 1981 and 1982 which represented their peak. They've also collected 11 conference championships overall. They are one of the most well known programs in college football history, but for reasons that have to do with a scandal that rocked the program's ability to succeed for decades.

In 1987, an investigation had revealed that SMU's boosters had been paying players from a slush fund that had supposedly been used as early as the 1970's. This pool funded efforts to recruit student athletes from low income situations, and to entice others. The scandal's exposure decimated the program and completely derailed any of the momentum it had built in previous years. Penalities included the cancellation of their 1987 season, loss of their 1988 home games, a four year probationary period, the loss of 55 scholarship positions for those same four years, a reduction in staff hires and no recruiting until at least 1989. This was known as the "death penalty", and SMU is the only school to ever receive it.

The program managed just one winning season from 1989 through till 2008. In 2009, head coach June Jones led SMU to a berth in the Hawaii Bowl where they beat the Neavda Wolf Pack 45-10 in what was a milestone achievement for the Mustangs. The last time they had been in the post season was in the 1985 Aloha Bowl, where they had defeated Notre Dame 27-20. The following seasons, they lost the Conference-USA Championship to the UCF Knights 7-17 but had began to return to form. They would go on to compete in three more bowl games, going 2-1 SU overall.

Jones would depart the program at the beginning of the 2014 season amidst allegations that he was losing passion for both college football and the recruiting process, with many citing the lack of Texas-born players as proof of his supposed disinterest. Without Jones, the Mustanges went 1-9 SU in 2014 before hiring Chad Morris to ressurect the program once again in 2015. He would go 4-12 SU in two seasons before being replaced by current head coach Sonny Dykes.

Conference Championships: 1923, 1926, 1931, 1935, 1940, 1947, 1948, 1966, 1981, 1982, 1984

Recent SMU Mustangs News