National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA)

The National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) was formed in 1906 to help organize the United States intercollegiate athletics. The organization has several functions, but the primary function is with general legislative and administrative authority for intercollegiate athletics. The first national championship for the NCAA was the National College Track and Field Championship in 1921.

In 1973, three divisions were formed within the NCAA. Among the divisions, the NCAA compiles statistics and rule books or guides for the sports covered among their specific division. Sports that adhere to the division’s oversight include American football, baseball, men and women’s basketball, football (soccer), ice hockey, lacrosse, skiing, swimming, diving, track and field athletics, wrestling and many other sports.

The home of the NCAA museum, Hall of Champions and headquarters can be found in Indianapolis, Indiana with 1,000 educational institutions included.

Recent College Sports News

Click here to read all posts on College Sports