Arizona Cardinals

Owner - Bill Bidwill
General Manager - Steve Keim
Head Coach - Steve Wilks

NFL Championships: 1925, 1947 Super Bowl Championships: N/A

Arizona Cardinals Game Schedule

Week 1 9/9 Washington Redskins 4:25pm FOX
Week 2 9/16 at Los Angeles Rams 4:05pm FOX
Week 3 9/23 Chicago Bears 4:25pm FOX
Week 4 9/30 Seattle Seahawks 4:05pm FOX
Week 5 10/7 at San Francisco 49ers 4:25pm FOX
Week 6 10/14 at Minnesota Vikings 1:00pm FOX
Week 7 10/18 Denver Broncos (TNF) 8:20pm FOX / NFLN
Week 8 10/28 San Francisco 49ers 4:25pm FOX
Week 9 11/4 BYE 1:00pm FOX
Week 10 11/11 at Kansas City Chiefs 1:00pm FOX
Week 11 11/18 Oakland Raiders 4:05pm CBS
Week 12 11/25 at Los Angeles Chargers 4:05pm FOX
Week 13 12/2 at Green Bay Packers 1:00pm FOX
Week 14 12/9 Detroit Lions 4:25pm FOX
Week 15 12/16 at Atlanta Falcons 1:00pm FOX
Week 16 12/23 Los Angeles Rams 4:05pm FOX
Week 17 12/30 at Seattle Seahawks 4:25pm FOX

Arizona Cardinals Team History

The Arizona Cardinals were founded in 1920 in the city of Chicago branching from the Morgan Athletic Club of 1898 in Chicago’s South Side. Named the Racine Normals after their playing location on Racine Avenue, the team underwent more changes in 1901 after owner Chris O’Brien purchased used jerseys from the University of Chicago that were described as “Cardinal Red”. From there, the team became the Racine Street Cardinals and the name stuck throughout their move to St. Louis and lastly to Arizona where they now reside. They were the Chicago Cardinals from 1945 to 1959.

Their time in Chicago gave the franchise an NFL championship in 1947 before the AFL-NFL merger and they were awarded a title in 1925 with the suspension of the Pottsville Maroons. However, Post-WWII Chicago Cardinals were seldom seen with success, and an impending bankruptcy combined with the arrival of the Chicago Bears pushed the team to St. Louis. In St. Louis they qualified for the playoffs just three times over 27 years and game attendance dwindled. Their 21-year-old stadium and mediocrity forced yet another move, this time to Phoenix.

As the Phoenix Cardinals for five years from 1988 to 1993, the team didn’t have much notable success. Eventually they made the name change to the Arizona Cardinals, and with it came their first playoff game in sixteen years and their first playoff win since 1947. Again came the playoff drought, but the team made their way to the Super Bowl in 2008 where they lost to the Pittsburgh Steelers. The team’s recent success is reflected in some of the team’s all-time records. Current Wide Receiver Larry Fitzgerald holds the record for most receptions, receiving yards, and total touchdowns. Current Running Back David Johnson holds the record for most single-season rushing touchdowns. And recently retired Quarterback Carson Palmer holds the record for most single-season passing yards and touchdowns.

While the team has been led by Bruce Arians from 2013 – 2017, the organization has been succeeded by Steve Wilks as they enter the 2018 season. With a batch of young draft talent and some seasoned veterans, the Cardinals are looking to build a foundation this season and establish ground to take a step forward on for the future of the Arizona Cardinals.

Recent Arizona Cardinals News