Chicago Bears

Owner – Virginia Halas McCaskey General Manager – Ryan Pace Head Coach – Matt Nagy

NFL Championships: 1921, 1932, 1933, 1940, 1941, 1943, 1946, 1963 Super Bowl Championships: 1985

2018 Chicago Bears Game Schedule

Week 1 9/9 at Green Bay Packers 8:20pm NBC
Week 2 9/17 Seattle Seahawks (Mon) 8:15pm ESPN
Week 3 9/23 at Arizona Cardinals 4:25pm FOX
Week 4 9/30 Tampa Bay Buccaneers 1:00pm FOX
Week 5 10/7 BYE
Week 6 10/14 at Miami Dolphins 1:00pm FOX
Week 7 10/21 New England Patriots 1:00pm CBS
Week 8 10/28 New York Jets 1:00pm CBS
Week 9 11/4 at Buffalo Bills 1:00pm FOX
Week 10 11/8 Detroit Lions 1:00pm FOX
Week 11 11/18 Minnesota Vikings 1:00pm FOX
Week 12 11/22 at Detroit Lions (Thu) 12:30pm CBS
Week 13 12/2 at New York Giants 1:00pm FOX
Week 14 12/9 Los Angeles Rams 1:00pm FOX
Week 15 12/16 Green Bay Packers 1:00pm FOX
Week 16 12/23 at San Francisco 49ers 4:05pm FOX
Week 17 12/30 at Minnesota Vikings 1:00pm FOX

Chicago Bears Team History

The Chicago Bears were founded as the company team of the A.E. Staley food starch company in 1919. In this time period, company teams were the standard for professional football franchises. The Bears, or the Decatur Staleys as they were known then, played in the American Professional Football Association and eventually moved to Chicago where they adopted the name “Bears” from the city’s baseball team. In the early years they had a heated rivalry with the cross-town Chicago Cardinals (now the Arizona Cardinals). The Cardinals weren’t their only rival, however, as their long-standing rivalry with the Green Bay Packers dates back to 1921.The team was in trouble until signing superstar Red Grange whose presence alone brought enough attention and fans to keep the team afloat. They sustained continued success through the 1920s and early 1930s before becoming the “Monsters of the Midway” in the 1940s. In 1940 the Bears dominated the Washington Redskins 73-0 in the championship game and the record is still held as the most lopsided win in NFL history.

After the 1970 AFL-NFL merger, the Bears encountered their first real period of unsuccessful football. From 1969 to 1982, Walter Payton kept fans endeared with the Bears, but the team was nowhere to be found in championship contention. In 1982, along comes Mike Ditka. Their first NFL championship since the 1970 merger arrived in 1985 with Ditka at the head of one of the greatest teams ever assembled. They never returned to the Super Bowl under Ditka but remained a force in the NFL throughout his tenure.

The Bears returned to the Super Bowl in 2006 under new coach Lovie Smith, but failed to topple the Indianapolis Colts despite Devin Hester scoring early by returning the opening kickoff. Smith coached a competitive tenure before being replaced by a rotation of unsuccessful coaches in Chicago leading up to 2018. While they have drafted who they believe to be the future of the franchise in Mitch Trubisky, the Bears are not in the NFL’s mix of high-end franchises at this moment.

Recent Chicago Bears News