Detroit Lions

Owner – Martha Firestone Ford General Manager – Bob Quinn Head Coach – Matt Patricia
NFL Championships: 1935, 1952, 1953, 1957 Super Bowl Championships: None

2018 Detroit Lions Game Schedule

Week 1 9/10 New York Jets (Mon) 7:10pm ESPN
Week 2 9/16 at San Francisco 49ers 4:05pm FOX
Week 3 9/23 New England Patriots 8:20pm NBC
Week 4 9/30 at Dallas Cowboys 1:00pm FOX
Week 5 10/7 Green Bay Packers 1:00pm FOX
Week 6 10/14 BYE
Week 7 10/21 at Miami Dolphins 1:00pm FOX
Week 8 10/28 Seattle Seahawks 1:00pm FOX
Week 9 11/4 at Minnesota Vikings 1:00pm FOX
Week 10 11/11 at Chicago Bears 1:00pm FOX
Week 11 11/18 Carolina Panthers 1:00pm FOX
Week 12 11/22 Chicago Bears (Thu) 12:30pm CBS
Week 13 12/2 Los Angeles Rams 1:00pm FOX
Week 14 12/9 at Arizona Cardinals 4:25pm FOX
Week 15 12/16 at Buffalo Bills 1:00pm FOX
Week 16 12/23 Minnesota Vikings 1:00pm FOX
Week 17 12/30 at Green Bay packers 1:00pm FOX

Detroit Lions Team History

Originally the Portsmouth Spartans, the Detroit Lions were founded in 1930 in the NFL’s smallest city at the time. Despite doing quite well in the NFL as the Portsmouth Spartans, the team could not survive multiple seasons in such a small market. They were purchased and relocated in 1934 to Detroit to become the Detroit Lions. The team won four championships in the NFL before the Super Bowl era began. That record ties them for 9th all-time in NFL titles. The team’s early years in Detroit were all-around successful and a major part of Detroit’s City of Champions years where the Tigers won the 1935 World Series, the Red Wings won the 1936 Stanley Cup, and the Lions won the 1935 NFL Championship against the New York Football Giants.

The 1950s were looking good for the Lions in the early part of the decade as the team managed to secure a championship in 1953 and returned to the title game in 1954 losing to the Cleveland Browns 56-10. In 1955 the Detroit Lions made their way back into the playoffs and found themselves down 24-7 at halftime to San Francisco. The 49ers players and staff decided to call their families to celebrate the championship victory before the second half began. The Lions broke a 71-yard touchdown run on the first play in the next half and came back to win the NFL Championship 31-27.

The 1989 draft brought Barry Sanders to Detroit where the running back won the NFL’s Offensive Rookie of the Year award. The Lions managed to make playoff appearances in six-of-ten years through 1998 setting a record at the time in the NFL.

The rest of the decade was mediocre at best for the Detroit Lions as they churned through multiple coaches and managed to lose some of the team’s biggest games as they failed to return to the NFL championship before the NFL-AFL merger. After losing their head coach for a position with the Pittsburgh Steelers the Lions fell even further. The Lions have experience some mediocrity but more than anything have been seasons that finish far below standard for the franchise.

The 2008 Detroit Lions in particular are noteworthy for being the fourth winless team in the history of the league. With the top pick in the draft the following year, the team selected Matthew Stafford at quarterback. Paired with Calvin Johnson, the two became one of the most prolific pairings for a brief moment in time. Stafford has been able to make the Lions somewhat competitive, but they haven't been able to retain a level of consistency against their rivals.

The 2018 Lions are coming into the season armed with one of the league’s highest paid quarterbacks and a group of offensive minds that should be able to make an impact on the NFC North. They hired Matt Patricia, a former defensive coordinator under Bill Belichik in New England, in order to turn things around.

Recent Detroit Lions News