Article Image

Tampa Bay Buccaneers quarterback Tom Brady (12) adjusts his helmet prior to game action. (Photo by Robin Alam/Icon Sportswire)

Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Owner: Glazer Family (Bryan, Joel, and Edward)
General Manager: Jason Licht
Head Coach: Bruce Arians
Super Bowl Championships: 2002 (Super Bowl XXXVII)

Tampa Bay Buccaneers Team History

Almost immediately upon entry, the Tampa Bay Buccaneers made all the wrong moves. They were part of a small expansion plan in 1976 that also brought the Seattle Seahawks in to the league, and struggled early on. Tampa Bay would lost its first 26 games by going 0-14 SU in their inaugral season, and then capsizing through 1977 before they won their first game in Week 12. By 1979 head coach John McKay had crafted a strong roster as the team crashed the NFC Championship party but lost to the Philadelphia Eagles.

Through the 1980's and early 1990's, Tampa became a laughing stock with 15 losing seasons and just one winning campaign. That all changed with the arrival of Tony Dungy, who assembled one of the most impressive defenses of all time with Warren Sapp, Derrick Brooks, Ronde Barber, John Lynch and Simeon Rice at the heart of it all. The offense was also littered with star talent like Warrick Dunn, the bulldozing Mike Alstott and Keyshawn Johnson. The Bucs would make the playoffs in 4-of-6 years helmed by Dungy, but only win a single game in the post season.

Feeling a change at the controls was necessary, the Glazer family pulled off one of the most intriguing moves in league history when they traded for Oakland head coach Jon Gruden. The already embedded defensive prowess of the Bucs, combined with Gruden's offensive know-how, piloted the Buccaneers to a 48-21 win over the Raiders in a dramatic Super Bowl.

Years of mediocrity followed. Glimpses of potential were followed by errant front office decisions, questionable drafting, and the difficulties in playing within the NFC South.
Tampa Bay finally broke through in 2020 with the surprising signing of six-time Super Bowl champion Tom Brady. The veteran QB led the Bucs to 11 wins in his first season in Florida, and now finds himself back on football's biggest stage for the 10th time in his legendary career.