2015 Eclipse Award finalists revealed

Profile Picture:

TwinSpires Staff

January 6th, 2016

Edited Press Release

Led by Horse of the Year candidates American Pharoah, Beholder and Runhappy, the National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA), Daily Racing Form and the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters (NTWAB) on Wednesday announced the finalists for the 2015 Eclipse Awards, recognizing excellence in Thoroughbred racing.

Winners in 17 horse and human categories will be announced at the 45th annual Eclipse Awards dinner and ceremony on Saturday evening, January 16, at Gulfstream Park.

Of the 281 eligible voters representing the NTRA, the NTWAB and Daily Racing Form, 261 (92.88 percent) took part in this year's voting. Finalists were determined in each category by voters' top three selections, using a 10-5-1 point basis. Eclipse Award winners are determined solely by first place votes.

The 2015 Eclipse Awards finalists (in alphabetical order) are:

Horse of the Year: American Pharoah, Beholder, Runhappy

Two-Year-Old Male: Airoforce, Mohaymen, Nyquist

Two-Year-Old Filly: Catch a Glimpse, Rachel's Valentina, Songbird

Three-Year-Old Male: American Pharoah, Dortmund, Runhappy

Three-Year-Old Filly: Found, I'm a Chatterbox, Stellar Wind

Older Dirt Male: Honor Code, Liam's Map, Tonalist

Older Dirt Female: Beholder, Sheer Drama, Stopchargingmaria

Male Sprinter: Private Zone, Rock Fall, Runhappy

Female Sprinter: La Verdad, Lady Shipman, Wavell Avenue

Male Turf Horse: Big Blue Kitten, Golden Horn, The Pizza Man

Female Turf Horse: Found, Stephanie's Kitten, Tepin

Steeplechase Horse: Bob Le Beau, Dawalan, Demonstrative

Owner: Midwest Thoroughbreds, Inc., Kenneth and Sarah Ramsey, Zayat Stables

Breeder: Darley, Kenneth and Sarah Ramsey, Zayat Stables

Trainer: Bob Baffert, Chad Brown, Todd Pletcher

Jockey: Javier Castellano, Victor Espinoza, Irad Ortiz, Jr.

Apprentice Jockey: Eric Cancel, Angel Cruz, Tyler Gaffalione

In addition to honoring the 17 winners in the horse and human categories, owner, breeder and philanthropist Leonard Lavin of Glen Hill Farm will receive the Eclipse Award of Merit for a lifetime of achievement in the Thoroughbred industry. John O'Neil will receive an Eclipse Award as the 2015 Horseplayer of the Year. Members of the media will be honored for outstanding coverage in six categories.

(American Pharoah photo: Oaklawn Park/Coady Photography)