2023 Preakness Stakes horses: trainers, jockeys, owners in the race

Profile Picture: TwinSpires Staff

TwinSpires Staff

May 20th, 2023

In the 149th running of the Kentucky Derby on May 6, 2023, Mage defeated a field of 18 horses and has returned to face a field of 7 horses in the Preakness Stakes. Discover who owns, trains and bred the contenders for Preakness 2023.

  1. National Treasure
    1. Jockey: John Velazquez
    2. Trainer: Bob Baffert
    3. Owner: SF Racing, LLC, Starlight Racing, Madaket Stables LLC, Robert Masterson, Stonestreet Stables LLC, Jay Schoenfarber, Waves Edge Capital LLC, Catherine Donovan
    4. Breeder: Peter Blum Thoroughbreds, LLC
  2. Chase the Chaos
    1. Jockey: Sheldon Russell
    2. Trainer: Ed Moger Jr
    3. Owner: Adam Ference and Bill Dory
    4. Breeder: Mr. and Mrs. Dale Krapf
  3. Mage
    1. Jockey: Javier Castellano
    2. Trainer: Gustavo Delgado
    3. Owner: OGMA Investments, LLC, Ramiro Restrepo, Straling Racing LLC and CMNWLTH
    4. Breeder: Grandview Equine
  4. Coffeewithchris
    1. Jockey: Jaime Rodriguez
    2. Trainer. John Salzman, Jr.
    3. Owner: John Salzman, Jr., Fred Wasserioos and Anthony Geruso
    4. Breeder: Thomas Rooney
  5. Red Route One
    1. Jockey: Joel Rosario
    2. Trainer: Steve Asmussen
    3. Owner: Winchell Thoroughbreds
    4. Breeder: Winchell Thoroughbreds
  6. Perform
    1. Jockey: F Lynch
    2. Trainer: Shug McGaughey III
    3. Owner: Woodford Racing LLC, Lanes End Farm, Phipps Stable, Ken Langone, Edward Hudson, Jr.
    4. Breeder: Michael Orem and J.B. Lane Orem
  7. Blazing Sevens
    1. Jockey: Irad Ortiz, Jr
    2. Trainer: Chad Brown
    3. Owner: Rodeo Creek Racing, LLC
    4. Breeder: Tracy Farmer