9 Interesting facts about the 2016 Preakness Stakes

Profile Picture:

TwinSpires Staff

May 22nd, 2016

Edited Press Release

  1. Exaggerator became the first horse to win the Preakness after finishing second in the Kentucky Derby since Prairie Bayou in 1993. Others are: Summer Squall (1990), Bally Ache (1960), Fabius (1956), Nashua (1955), Hasty Road (1954), Native Dancer (1953), Hill Prince (1950), Capot (1949), Alsab (1942), Bimelech (1940), Challedon (1939), Dauber (1938), Head Play (1933).
  2. Exaggerator became the 12th Preakness winner to start from Post Position 5 since 1909 and just the second in 40 years (Elocutionist, 1976). Shackleford won from Post 5 in 2011.
  3. Keith and Kent Desormeaux became the first brother trainer-jockey combination to win the Preakness.
  4. There have now been 10 Preakness winners that have gone on to sire a Preakness winner. Curlin, who captured the Middle Jewel of the Triple Crown in 2007, is the sire of Exaggerator. Others are Bold Ruler (Secretariat), Bold Venture (Assault), Gallant Fox (Omaha), Man o’ War (War Admiral), Polynesian (Native Dancer), Citation  (Fabius), Native Dancer (Kauai King), Secretariat (Risen Star) and Summer Squall (Charismatic).
  5. Kent Desormeaux is the sixth jockey to win three or more Preaknesses (Real Quiet, Big Brown, Exaggerator). Eddie Arcaro has won the most with six, followed by Pat Day (five), Victor Espinoza (three), Bill Hartack (three) and Gary Stevens (three).
  6. Nineteen Preakness winners have gone on to be voted Horse of the Year including each of the last two, American Pharoah (2015) and California Chrome (2014).
  7. Exaggerator will attempt to become the 19th horse to win the Preakness and Belmont Stakes after failing to win the Kentucky Derby. The last was Afleet Alex in 2005.
  8. Exaggerator is the 33rd horse to run in the Preakness whose name begins with the letter ‘E,’ and the third to win. The others are Effendi (1909) and Elocutionist (1976).
  9. Keith Desourmeaux is the 47th trainer to win the Preakness with his first starter. The last was Art Sherman (California Chrome) in 2014.