Shared Belief Stakes

  • Location: Del Mar Racetrack - Del Mar, CA
  • Inaugural Race: 1973
  • Distance: 1 mile (8 furlongs)
  • Track Type: Left-handed, Dirt
  • Age Qualifications: Three-year-olds
  • 2020 Purse: $100,000
  • 2020 Race Date: Tuesday, August 1st


The Shared Belief Stakes is one of the most recent additions to the Road to the Kentucky Derby as part of the extended series. Held each year at the Del Mar Racetrack, winners of the contest are awarded 50-20-10-5 points.

2020 Shared Belief Stakes Entries and Results

Thousand Words
Abel Cedillo
Bob Baffert
Honor A.P.
Mike Smith
John Shirreffs
Kiss Today
Umberto Rispoli
J. Kruljac
Flavien Prat
Bob Baffert

Exotic Payouts

  • $2 Exacta (2-5) Paid: $27.80
  • $2 Trifecta (2-5-4) Paid: $133.80
  • $2 Superfecta (2-5-4-6) Paid: $117.60

Watch the 2020 Shared Belief Stakes


The History of the Shared Belief Stakes

The Shared Belief Stakes is run annually in late August or Early September at the Del Mar Racetrack. Inaugurated as the El Cajon Stakes in 1973, the race was later renamed for American Champion Shared Belief, who captured a win at Del Mar in the 2014 running of the Pacific Classic.
Notable winners of the race include 2015 Horse of the Year Gimme Da Lute (2015), and 1985 American Champion Two Year Old Colt Tasso (1986).

Road to the Kentucky Derby prep-race list