The Black-Eyed Susan Stakes: Race History & Key Facts

  • Location: Pimlico Race Course
  • Inaugural Race: 1919
  • Distance: 1 & 1/8 miles (9 furlongs)
  • Track Type: Left-Handed Dirt
  • Age Qualifications: Three-year-old fillies
  • 2015 Purse: $500,000

A Brief History of the Black-Eyed Susan Stakes

The Black-Eyed Susan Stakes race is hosted annually at Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore, Maryland. The race dates back to 1919 and was given graded stakes status in 1973.

Today, the Grade 2, three-year-old filly race covers a distance of 1 & 1/8th miles, with a purse of $500,000. Milkmaid was the first winner in 1973 and went on to earn United States Champion 3-Yr-Old Filly Honors. In fact, twenty three fillies that won the Black-Eyed Susan went on to be named a Champion.

The Black-Eyed Susan Stakes is a counterpart to the Triple Crown of Thoroughbred Racing alongside the Kentucky Oaks and the Acorn Stakes. These races are often unofficially referred to as the "Filly Triple Crown". Officially, the "Filly Triple Crown" is known as the Triple Tiara of Thoroughbred Racing and consists of  three races held at Belmont Park and Saratoga Race Course in New York. Recently, there has been talk among officials to change the Triple Tiara Series to include the Black-Eyed Susan, the Kentucky Oaks and the Mother Goose Stakes.

Davona Dale is the only filly to win the Black-Eyed Susan Stakes, Kentucky Oaks, Acorn Stakes, Mother Goose Stakes, and Coaching Club American Oaks. The only Black-Eyed Susan winner to also win the Preakness Stakes is Nillie Morse.

Other notable entries into the race include Royal Delta, Serena’s Song, Office Queen, Airman’s Guide, and Real Delight.


Black-Eyed Susan Stakes - Race Records

Scroll over any box below to view the historical records & results for the Black-Eyed Susan Stakes:

Speed record

Silverbulletday - 1999

Most Wins by a Jockey

Chris McCarron (1976, 1985, 1986, 1992) & John Velazquez (1998, 2003, 2005, 2012)

Most Wins by a Trainer

D. Wayne Lukas (1984, 1986, 1989, 1995)

Historical Results for the Black-Eyed Susan Stakes

In the table below, view a records of the winning trainers, thoroughbreds, jockeys, and times for every Kentucky Oaks race.

Click Here to View Full Table
Layer 1Layer 1
Layer 1Layer 1
Layer 1Layer 1
Layer 1Layer 1
Javier Castellano
Todd Pletcher
Joel Rosario
Bob Baffert
In Lingerie
John Velazquez
Todd Pletcher
Royal Delta
Jose Lezcano
William I. Mott
Acting Happy
Jose Lezcano
Richard Dutrow
Payton d'Oro
Terry Thompson
J. Larry Jones
Sweet Vendetta
Channing Hill
Gary C. Contessa
Panty Raid
Edgar Prado
Todd Pletcher
Regal Engagement*
Ramon Dominguez
Thomas M. Bush
Spun Sugar
John Velazquez
Todd A. Pletcher