Secretariat, The Kentucky Derby and Top winning Times

Profile Picture: Jim McVicker

Jim McVicker

April 29th, 2013

The May 4th running of the 139th Kentucky Derby commemorates the 40th anniversary of the immortal champion Secretariat and his unchallenged winning time of 1:59 .40.

The only other horse to break a 2 minute time for the 1 ¼ race was Monarchos (2001) who won in 1:59.97.

Other horses that have won the Run for the Roses with impressive times are the legendary sire Northern Dancer (1964) in 2:00:00 flat, Spend A Buck (1985) winning in 2:00:20, Decidedly (1962) in 2:00:40, Proud Clarion (1967) in 2:00:60.

Secretariat’s 1973 Kentucky Derby winning time is still unchallenged after 40 years; actually ALL Secretariat’s Triple Crown winning times remain unchallenged and if we happen to see a horse best “Big Red” and his record times, that will be a horse to pay very, very special attention to.

On the human side of the race noteworthy records include:

Most wins by a jockey: Eddie Arcaro & Bill Hartack – 5 wins each

Most wins by a trainer: Ben Jones -6 wins

Most wins by an owner : Calumet Farm – 8 wins (including two Triple Crown Champions; Citation and Whirlaway).